Amazon Bee is a personal AI service that listens to your conversations through a small device, turns them into summaries, reminders and to-dos, and shows them in an app. On October 15, 2026, Amazon launched two new Bee devices: the Bee Frontier, a $74.99 wristband that can also clip onto clothing, and the Bee Eclipse, a $99.99 card-sized gadget that sticks magnetically to the back of your phone. Frontier is on sale in the US now. Eclipse has no release date yet.
How we researched this: We haven’t had either device in hand, so this isn’t a hands-on review. This is an analysis built from Amazon’s own announcement and privacy documentation, cross-checked against reporting from CNBC, TechCrunch, GeekWire and others, plus competitor pricing pages. Where sources disagree or Amazon hasn’t said, we tell you.
Key takeaways
- Two devices, one service. Frontier ($74.99) is worn or clipped. Eclipse (from $99.99) attaches to your phone and promises 21+ days of battery.
- The hardware is only half the cost. The useful extras sit behind Bee Pro at $11.99 a month. New customers get 30 days free.
- Amazon says audio is never stored. Speech is turned into text in real time and the audio is deleted. Transcripts are encrypted with keys your device controls.
- Consent is the unresolved problem. The wearer agrees to recording. The people talking to the wearer may not even know.
- India availability isn’t confirmed. Sales so far run through Amazon.com in the US.
What is Amazon Bee?
Bee started as a San Francisco startup with an always-listening bracelet, the Bee Pioneer. Amazon bought the company in July 2025 and didn’t disclose the price. The October launch is the first new Bee hardware since that deal.
The idea is simple. You have a dozen small conversations a day, a friend suggests a book, your manager mentions a deadline, you promise to buy dish soap. You forget half of it. Bee listens when it’s switched on, pulls out what matters, and gives you a summary and a to-do list afterward. Amazon’s own pitch is that you can stay present in the conversation instead of typing notes.
This category is often called ambient AI or personal AI. Instead of opening a chatbot and typing a question, the AI sits in the background and builds a memory of your day.
Amazon Bee Frontier vs Bee Eclipse: price and specs
| Bee Frontier | Bee Eclipse | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $74.99 | From $99.99 |
| Availability | On sale now at Amazon.com | “Soon” (no date given) |
| How you carry it | Silicone wristband, or clip to clothing | Magnetic attachment on the back of a phone |
| Battery | Up to 7 days | 21+ days |
| Charging | USB-C | Not specified in the announcement |
| Water resistance | IP67 | Not specified in the announcement |
| Microphones | Dual mics with noise filtering | Not specified by Amazon |
| Colors | Onyx, Lavender, Sage | Silver, Midnight, Honey, Blush |
| Phone compatibility | Works via the Bee app on iPhone and Android | MagSafe iPhones and Qi2 Android phones |
A few notes on that table. Eclipse measures about 4.6 mm thick and 48.9 g, according to GSMArena, which is roughly credit-card size. Some outlets have swapped the two battery figures (one wire report credited Frontier with 21 days). Amazon’s own page says seven days for Frontier and 21-plus for Eclipse, so we’ve used those.
Who is each one for? Frontier suits people who are on the move and want a device that doesn’t depend on their phone being nearby. Eclipse suits people who mostly want to capture phone calls and who already carry the phone everywhere. Amazon’s own example for Eclipse is planning a holiday with relatives over the phone.
How does Amazon Bee work?
You press the button to turn the device on. A light shows when it’s active. Amazon Bee then listens, transcribes in real time and builds summaries that you read in the Bee mobile app or a new desktop app. You can choose templates for different situations, such as lectures, care plans or brainstorming sessions. Bee also looks for themes that keep coming up and suggests goals or next actions.
It connects to tools you may already use:
- Email and calendar: Gmail, Google Calendar and Microsoft Outlook. After a call, Bee can list action items, draft a follow-up email or create a calendar invite.
- Health and photos: Apple HealthKit and your photo library, to add context to daily memories.
- Alexa+: Ask an Echo device for a meeting summary or your to-do list hands-free. Alexa uses voice ID so it hands your Bee insights to you and not to someone else in the room.
- Amazon.com: Items you mention can surface as product suggestions on the Amazon homepage and in the Bee apps.
That last point is the clearest sign of Amazon’s thinking. This is a memory assistant, and it’s also a new way to nudge people toward the shopping cart. GeekWire reported that the shopping features are opt-in, which matters, and we’d want to see how clearly that choice is presented during setup.
What does Amazon Bee actually record and keep?
This is the question most coverage skips, so here is what Amazon has stated.
- Audio: Not stored. Amazon says speech is transcribed in real time and the audio is then deleted.
- Transcripts, summaries and to-dos: These are kept so you can read them later. They are encrypted with keys that your device creates and controls, and Amazon says they’re accessible only to you unless you choose to share them.
- Who can see it: Amazon says nobody can, including Amazon and Bee. Processing happens inside what it calls Bee Private Compute, built on the AWS Nitro System. Amazon points to a September 2026 security review by Trail of Bits and a technical white paper for anyone who wants to check the claims.
- Deleting: You can delete transcripts and summaries at any time.
- Amazon sign-in: You can now sign into Bee with your Amazon account. Amazon says that doesn’t give it access to your Bee data.
How long is data kept? Here the announcement is thinner than we’d like. Amazon says every Bee user gets conversation summaries, recaps and 14-day memory at no extra cost. It does not clearly state how long Pro users’ transcripts and summaries are retained. Until Amazon publishes that plainly, treat it as unanswered and read Bee’s privacy policy before you buy.
One tension is worth pointing out. Amazon says nobody at the company can read your data, and it also says Bee can suggest products based on things you said. Both can be true if the matching happens inside the protected environment and only the result comes out. But the announcement doesn’t explain the mechanism. The white paper is the place to look.
Also Read: What Is Vexo? The $199 AI Bracelet That Acts Before You Ask
How much does Amazon Bee cost? The $12 subscription explained
The sticker price is $74.99 or $99.99, but you’ll likely need a plan too.
Free with any Amazon Bee device: conversation summaries, recaps and a 14-day memory.
Bee Pro, $11.99 a month: unlimited recent conversation summaries, Amazon.com and Alexa+ integrations, third-party app integrations (Gmail, Calendar, Outlook), suggested to-dos, daily memories, a personal chat assistant, conversation templates and the desktop app. A yearly price of $99.99 has been reported, based on Bee’s Pro page. New buyers get 30 days of Pro free.
Put together, the first year looks like this:
| Setup | First-year cost (before tax) |
|---|---|
| Frontier, free tier only | $74.99 |
| Frontier + Pro billed yearly | about $175 |
| Frontier + Pro billed monthly | about $219 |
| Eclipse + Pro billed yearly | about $200 |
The original Bee Pioneer reportedly sold for $49.99 with a $19.99 monthly plan, according to Yahoo Finance. So Amazon raised the hardware price and cut the subscription by about 40 percent.
Which features need Alexa+ or Amazon Bee Pro?
The basics (summaries, recaps, 14 days of memory) work without either. The things that make Bee feel like an assistant are behind the paywall:
- Hands-free Bee summaries and to-dos through Alexa+ need a Bee Pro subscription and a connection between Bee and Alexa.
- Amazon.com shopping suggestions need Bee Pro.
- Gmail, Calendar and Outlook integrations need Bee Pro.
- The desktop app, templates and chat assistant need Bee Pro.
Amazon says some Bee features require Pro without listing every one, so check the plan page before assuming something is included.
The privacy question you can’t skip: consent
Amazon has done more here than many ambient AI makers. Not storing audio, encrypting transcripts with device-held keys and publishing an outside security review are real steps.
But encryption protects data after it’s captured. It doesn’t answer whether the capture was fair to everyone in the room.
Jeff Williams, a veteran security engineer who spent years at AWS and now runs security at Sigma360, argued publicly that Bee asks the wrong person for permission. The wearer gets prompted. The person across the table doesn’t. He also pointed out that the automatic shut-off only helps when nobody is speaking, so it doesn’t protect a bystander during a conversation.
Amazon does say that Eclipse prompts you to get permission from call participants each time a recording starts. A light also shows when Bee is active. But a light isn’t consent, and a small light on a wrist can be easy to miss.
The law adds complexity. In the United States, federal law generally allows recording when one party consents, but roughly a dozen states, including California and Washington, require everyone’s consent for private conversations. Amazon’s own product listing says laws vary by state and country, and that telling people and getting their permission is up to you.
This isn’t legal advice, but a sensible rule is: if you wouldn’t be comfortable explaining to someone that you’re recording them, ask first. In a job where confidentiality matters, such as legal, medical, HR or client work, get written permission or don’t use it.
How Amazon Bee compares with other AI recorders
Prices below were checked in October 2026 and change often, so confirm before buying.
| Bee Frontier | Plaud Note | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Device price | $74.99 | $159 (Note Pro is $189) | Listed around $129 to $139 |
| Free tier | Summaries, recaps, 14-day memory | 300 transcription minutes a month | Unlimited standard-accuracy transcription (per comparison reviews) |
| Paid plan | Bee Pro, $11.99 a month | Pro $99.99 a year; Unlimited $239.99 a year | Pro $19.99 a month |
| Audio handling | Not stored, per Amazon | Records and stores audio on the device, per reviews | Records audio, per reviews |
| Shopping/assistant tie-in | Alexa+ and Amazon.com | None | None |
The audio-handling row is the real difference. Recorders like Plaud keep the recording, which is useful if you need a verbatim record or want to re-listen. Bee deliberately doesn’t, which is better for privacy and worse if you ever need the exact words.
The category has also been shaky. Meta bought Limitless, maker of a $99 conversation-recording pendant, in December 2025 and stopped selling that hardware to new customers. Apple has announced an opt-in Siri Recap feature for its new Apple Watches, due in beta later this year, according to GeekWire. Standalone gadgets now compete with the phones and watches people already own. Software notetakers such as Granola and Otter also need no extra hardware at all.
Is Amazon Bee available in India?
Not yet, as far as we can confirm. Amazon Bee Frontier is sold on Amazon.com in the US. Amazon’s announcement doesn’t mention India or give a rupee price, and Indian outlets covering the launch are converting the dollar price rather than reporting a local one.
For rough planning, $74.99 is around ₹6,600 to ₹7,100 and $99.99 is around ₹8,800 to ₹9,000 at recent exchange rates. Those are not Indian prices. Shipping, import duties and warranty would change the real cost, and a US-bought device may be hard to get serviced here.
There is a related development. Alexa+ launched in India on September 16, 2026 in Early Access, free for now, in English, Hindi and Hinglish. It stays free for Prime members, and non-Prime customers are expected to pay ₹2,000 a month afterward. That suggests Amazon is laying groundwork, but Alexa+ in India is not the same thing as Bee in India. We’ll update this article if Amazon announces a launch.
Who should buy Amazon Bee, and who should wait
It could make sense if you’re a student with lectures, a freelancer juggling calls, or someone who keeps forgetting small commitments, and you’re comfortable telling people you’re using it. The low hardware price makes it an easy experiment, especially with the 30-day Pro trial.
Wait or skip it if you handle confidential client or patient information, live where all-party consent is required and don’t want to manage that, or don’t want a retailer holding a running summary of your conversations, even an encrypted one. Also wait if you’re in India, since you can’t count on official sales or support.
What we couldn’t verify yet about Amazon Bee
- The Eclipse release date, and its water resistance, microphone setup and charging port.
- How long Pro users’ transcripts and summaries are retained.
- How shopping suggestions are generated without anyone at Amazon seeing your data.
- Real-world accuracy, battery life and noise handling. These need hands-on testing.
- Whether any regulator will examine the consent model. None has acted so far, as far as we’ve seen.
We’ll update this article when we have answers.
Frequently asked questions
What is Amazon Bee? Amazon Bee is a personal AI service with companion devices that listen to conversations and turn them into summaries, reminders and to-do lists. Amazon bought the original Bee startup in July 2025.
How much does Bee Frontier cost? $74.99 in the US. It comes in Onyx, Lavender and Sage and is sold at Amazon.com.
How much does Bee Eclipse cost and when does it launch? It starts at $99.99. Amazon says it will be available soon but hasn’t given a date.
Does Bee need a subscription? Not for the basics. Free users get summaries, recaps and 14-day memory. Bee Pro costs $11.99 a month and unlocks Alexa+ and Amazon.com integrations, app integrations, suggested to-dos and the desktop app.
Does Bee record and store my audio? Amazon says no. Audio is processed in real time and deleted. Transcripts and summaries are stored, encrypted, and you can delete them.
Can Amazon employees read my Bee transcripts? Amazon says no. It says Bee Private Compute is designed so no one, including Amazon, can access your data unless you share it. An outside review by Trail of Bits is available if you want to check.
Is it legal to wear Bee in conversations? It depends on where you are. Some US states require everyone’s consent to record a private conversation, and rules differ abroad. Amazon says users are responsible for following local laws. Ask a lawyer for advice on your situation.
Is Amazon Bee available in India? Amazon hasn’t confirmed this. Frontier is currently sold on Amazon.com in the US.
How long does the battery last? Up to seven days for Frontier and more than 21 days for Eclipse, according to Amazon.
Sources and how we researched this
We prioritized primary sources and checked claims across independent outlets. Specs, pricing and privacy statements come from Amazon’s announcement unless noted.
- Amazon, “Amazon introduces 2 new AI products from Bee: Bee Frontier and Bee Eclipse,” October 15, 2026: https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/devices/amazon-personal-ai-bee-frontier-bee-eclipse
- Amazon, “Bee Private Compute: How Bee keeps your conversations private”: https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/devices/bee-private-compute-data-protection
- Amazon Science, Bee Private Compute white paper: https://www.amazon.science/publications/bee-private-compute-privacy-preserving-intelligence-for-bee
- CNBC, launch coverage, October 15, 2026: https://www.cnbc.com/2026/10/15/amazon-bee-frontier-eclipse-ai-devices.html
- TechCrunch, launch coverage, October 15, 2026: https://techcrunch.com/2026/10/15/amazons-bee-launches-two-new-personal-ai-devices-starting-at-75/
- GeekWire, launch and competitor context: https://geekwire.com/2026/amazons-new-ai-devices-can-listen-to-conversations-and-suggest-things-to-buy-if-you-opt-in
- GSMArena, Eclipse dimensions and weight: https://www.gsmarena.com/amazon_launches_bee_frontier_ai_wearable_and_bee_eclipse_phone_attachment-news-75073.php
- 9to5Google, battery and compatibility: https://9to5google.com/2026/10/15/amazon-launches-bee-ai-wearables/
- Yahoo Finance, subscription and Pioneer pricing: https://finance.yahoo.com/technology/articles/amazon-bee-wearables-come-12-105318539.html
- Unite.AI, Bee Pro pricing: https://www.unite.ai/amazons-bee-introduces-frontier-eclipse-and-a-pro-subscription/
- Commstrader, report on Jeff Williams’s consent critique: https://commstrader.com/technology/amazons-new-bee-ai-devices-have-a-bystander-problem-says-former-aws-security-engineer/
- Plaud, product and pricing pages: https://www.plaud.ai/pages/plaud-note-pro
- TechCrunch, Meta acquires Limitless, December 2025: https://www.techcrunch.com/2025/12/05/meta-acquires-ai-device-startup-limitless/
- TechCrunch, Alexa+ launches in India, September 16, 2026: https://techcrunch.com/2026/09/16/amazon-launches-alexa-in-india-with-hindi-support/
Disclosure: Geeky Fisher has no commercial relationship with Amazon, Bee, Plaud or Pocket. Prices and availability change quickly; we’ll update this article as new information appears.

